NPSO Board

Board Members

Our board brings a wide range of expertise to guide and deliver change successfully while maintaining a focus on service delivery. Chaired by Melanie Johnson, our board is comprised of 11 directors who are listed below:

Melanie was the Labour MP for Welwyn Hatfield from 1997 until 2005 and served in several ministerial posts as Economic Secretary at HM Treasury; at the former Department of Trade and Industry (now the Department of Business, Innovation and Skills) as Minister for Competition, Consumers and Markets; and latterly at the Department of Health as Minister for Public Health.

Following her time in parliament, Melanie was Joint Chair of the Association of British Insurers’ (ABI) consumer impact panel, which aimed to improve customers’ experience of the insurance industry. She was appointed as the first non-industry Chair of The UK Cards Association in September 2009, leading the trade body for eight years, subsequently sitting on the Interim Management Board for the setting up of the new integrated trade association, UK Finance.

Prior to his appointment at the New Payment System Operator, Paul joined Nationwide Building Society in 2010 with accountability for a full range of end to end payments services provided to the Society’s 15 million members. He has driven changes such as contactless cards, PayM, Apple Pay, Android Pay and Samsung Pay to deliver market-leading services in the evolving digital marketplace.

Having worked at the Bank of England since 2006, covering a variety of operational and payments leadership roles, Matthew was most recently COO for the Monetary Policy area. During his time at the Bank, Matthew was also Head of Customer Banking Division with responsibility for banking, securities and gold custody services provided to the UK Government and other central banks. Matthew has also performed senior management roles, running the RTGS payment system and banknote distribution. Prior to working at the Bank, Matthew was a business manager for UBS Investment Bank and a consultant with Accenture.

Robert was the Independent Chair of the Payment System Operator Delivery Group. He has been a senior advisor at the Banking Standards Board since September 2015, and prior to that a senior advisor at the Prudential Regulation Authority (PRA) and Financial Services Authority (FSA). He is currently Independent Chair of State Street Trustees Limited.

Richard is a past Chairman of the Institute of Risk Management and was a partner at Coopers & Lybrand, subsequently PwC where he led the Strategic Risk Group in Europe, the Middle East and Africa. Richard has also worked for a variety of risk practices, including setting up AndersonRisk.

Christine has held executive-level roles for 20 years and has extensive non-executive and advisory board experience. She has a track record as a transformational leader in industry. Christine’s current role at international business technology provider, SAP, is as the CDO, Digital Office to lead a cloud first CXO digital advisory practice. Prior to her current role she served as Global SVP Technology at Thomson Reuters, driving a customer experience and business integration transformation. Before that she held a series of key technology roles at BP, including as the Chief Information Manager responsible for digitising some of the world’s largest businesses. She has served as an independent non-executive to the Home Office.

Anna is an experienced Non-Executive Director and Chair. She has a background in regulation, policy and consumer advocacy across a variety of sectors. She is currently a Board member of Age UK, a member of the Zurich Financial Independent Governance Committee, Chair of the Southern Water Customer Challenge Group, and Chair of the Rail Safety Standards Board.

Tim joined the NPSO from a senior advisory role at the Bank of England following the successful acquisition and integration of CHAPS Co in November 2017.   Prior to joining the Bank of England, Tim undertook a variety of senior executive management roles including CEO of CHAPS Co, Chief Operating Officer and European Head of Payments & Cash Management of HSBC Global Payments and Cash Management, and HSBC London Regional Director. He also has audit management experience with PwC.

Jean-Yves has led procurement for some of the world’s biggest brands and has extensive experience in post-merger value creation. After working on the external sourcing of innovation at P&G in the 1990s he joined InBev in 2002 as procurement director and later became part of the AmBev executive leadership team based in São Paulo. He then became Chief Procurement Officer at Cadbury and from 2011 through 2017 has served as Group Chief Procurement Officer at GSK.

Peter is an experienced Chairman and Non-Executive Director with a current portfolio of appointments in the private, public and third sectors which includes being Chairman of the Care Quality Commission and of Sir Richard Sutton Limited. He was previously a senior partner in PwC and President of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales.

Russell is a career banker with over 30 years’ experience specialising in retail and commercial banking, payments, compliance and strategic transformation. He is currently Managing Director Global Payments for Lloyds Banking Group and holds non-executive roles with SWIFT and UK Payments Administration. Russell is a strong advocate of customer-led innovation and has been an active member of the PSF leading the Financial Crime working Group and a member of the Delivery Group.

Board Minutes

Register of Interests

All NPSO Directors are required to declare their conflicts of interest, and these are made publicly available below:

Redaction Policy

From time to time, the NPSO is required to redact key information from its publications where it is necessary to protect commercial confidentiality, candid debate and the financial stability or integrity of the NPSO or to comply with our duty of confidentiality. The policy which governs this process can be read below: